Select Page

Countries That Require The CE Mark

Countries That Require The CE Mark

The CE Marking or CE Certification is mandatory for certain product groups in the European Economic Area (EEA), consisting of the 30 Member States of the European Union (EU) and four European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries. It is also obligatory for all products made in third countries (non-member states) which are sold in the EEA. In that case, the importer has to make sure that the manufacturer outside the EU has taken the necessary steps that allow him to affix the CE Marking.

CE Mark is mandatory for the following 27 Member States of the EU:

CroatiaCyprusCzech Republic

European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Countries

Apart from the EU member states, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries also require the CE Mark for certain products. The EFTA includes:


Countries in EU Integration Process

CE Mark is still not required within the member countries of the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA), although some of them (Republic of Macedonia, Croatia, Serbia, Montenegro) are official candidates for membership to the European Union, and are already adopting many of its standards within their legislation (like most of the former Central European countries that were members of CEFTA before joining the EU).

Other Countries of the CEFTA include:

AlbaniaBosnia and HerzegovinaKosovo
MoldovaMontenegroNorth Macedonia

Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs)

The CE Mark’s influence extends further through Agreements on Mutual Recognition of Conformity Assessment between the European Union and other countries. These agreements facilitate trade by allowing products tested and certified in one country to be accepted in another without additional testing. Countries with such agreements include:

The CE Mark also has Agreements on Mutual Recognition of Conformity Assessment between the European Union and countries such as the following:

JapanNew ZealandSwitzerland
TurkeyUnited States  

Keystone Compliance assists manufacturers with CE Mark compliance. Please contact us for more information on how Keystone Compliance can assist you with identifying and fulfilling your CE Mark needs.

Professional CE Mark Certification Testing Laboratory

The CE Mark is a key indicator of a product’s compliance with EU standards, and its requirement extends across the EEA, EFTA, and, in some cases, CEFTA countries. Additionally, MRAs between the EU and other nations further amplify the significance of the CE Mark in global trade. Manufacturers and exporters must be well-versed in these requirements to ensure seamless access to these markets.

For more information on the CE Mark, please click one of the following links: