Amazon Type A – 2019-08-16T113227.146

NEMA 250

NEMA 250 addresses the ingress protection of enclosures for electrical equipment rated at 1000 Volts or less and intended to be installed and used in specific non-hazardous and hazardous locations. NEMA 250 has defined 20 different enclosure types.

The enclosures are grouped by hazardous and non-hazardous locations as well as indoor, outdoor and mining. Below is a summary of each category and its specific enclosures:

Non-Hazardous (unclassified) locations NEMA 250 Enclosures:

  • Indoor locations, Types 1, 2, 5, 12, 12K and 13.
  • Indoor or outdoor locations, Types 3, 3X, 3R, 3RX, 3S, 3SX, 4, 4X, 6 and 6P.

Hazardous (classified) locations NEMA 250 Enclosures:

  • Enclosures for indoor locations, Types 7 and 9.
  • Enclosures for indoor or outdoor locations, Type 8.
  • Enclosures for mining applications, Type 10.

Keystone Compliance is a certified NEMA 250 testing lab. What sets Keystone Compliance’s NEMA testing apart is our experience in helping manufacturers determine ingress points in their products and also identifying potential solutions. We also have significant expertise in interpreting the NEMA 250 standard. Just because some liquid or dust may enter an enclosure, does not automatically mean that the unit has not met the requirements. If the unit that requires testing is too large to move, no problem. We have experience completing ingress protection testing at the customer’s facilities.

Why is Keystone Compliance the right NEMA 250 ingress protection lab to complete your ingress testing? Our customers enjoy our short lead times, ability to explain the process and testing requirements, consultative engineering support when failures occur and affordable pricing. Contact us to receive a quote for ingress protection testing and see why we are the only ingress protection lab for so many manufacturers from around the country.

For more information on each of the 20 types of NEMA 250 enclosures, please visit the links below: